BISD Announces Three Administrative Appointments

On Thursday, June 24, Birdville ISD’s Board of Trustees announced three administrative appointments effective July 1, 2021. Dr. Julia Hyman was appointed executive director of teaching and learning, Dr. Melissa Glenn was appointed director of federal programs, and Dr. Jennifer Perry was named director of teaching and learning. 

Julie Hyman

Julia “Julie” Hyman, Ed.D., has been director of teaching and learning and advanced academics for Birdville ISD since 2019. She oversees K–12 gifted and talented programs, Advanced Placement, Dual Credit, AVID, and the Collegiate Academy of Birdville. With over 30 years of experience as a public school classroom teacher, educational consultant, and content and program coordinator, Dr. Hyman has had the honor of helping both students and teachers grow. She believes in the value of rigorous and relevant instruction with a strong foundation of literacy skills.  

She earned her bachelor’s degree from Texas Christian University, master’s degree from the University of North Texas, and doctorate from Dallas Baptist University. She serves as an adjunct professor at Dallas Baptist University. 

Missy Glenn

Melissa “Missy” Glenn, Ed.D., has been coordinator of federal and state programs in Birdville ISD since 2020. Before BISD, she was superintendent of Palacios ISD from 2019–20, deputy superintendent of Kennedale ISD from 2016–19, and director of finance at Birdville ISD from 2015–16. Glenn has also been an adjunct professor at The University of Texas at Arlington since 2013. 

She earned her bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees from Texas Christian University. 

Dr. Jennifer Perry

Jennifer Perry, Ed.D., has been the executive director of instructional services of Lake Dallas ISD since 2020. She also was a principal at Lake Dallas Elementary from 2012–20, assistant principal at Lake Dallas Elementary from 2009–12, and assistant principal at Lake Dallas Intermediate from 2006–09. 

Outside of school, Perry currently serves on the board of Love For Kids, Inc. as their volunteer chair. 

She earned her bachelor’s degree from The University of North Texas, master’s degree from Tarleton State University, and doctorate from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. 

BISD Announces Two New Principals

At a special meeting on Tuesday, June 15, Birdville ISD’s Board of Trustees announced the appointments of Charlie Ann Lokey as principal of O.H. Stowe Elementary, and Kristi T. Strickland, Ph.D., as principal of Haltom High School. Lokey is replacing Dr. Nathan Frymark, who was named principal of Green Valley Elementary. Strickland is replacing Dr. Dion Varnado, who has accepted another position in the District. 

Charlie Lokey

Charlie Ann Lokey has been curriculum coordinator at Lake Dallas ISD since 2020. She also was an assistant principal of curriculum and instruction at Lake Dallas Middle School from 2017–20, and an instructional coach and campus testing coordinator at Shady Shores Elementary from 2015–17. Her teaching experience from 2007–15 includes math and teen leadership, math intervention specialist, and English/Language Arts. 

Outside of school, Lokey currently serves as a youth sports coach with the Lake Cities Youth Sports Organization.  

She earned her bachelor’s degree from The University of Texas at Austin and master’s degree from Lamar University. 

K. Strickland

Kristi T. Strickland, Ph.D., has been the principal at Lake Dallas High School in Lake Dallas ISD since 2010. During her tenure at Lake Dallas High, she was named the Texas High School Principal of the Year in 2016 by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals. 

In addition to her leadership of Lake Dallas High School, Strickland also served as an instructor at the University of North Texas (UNT) and as adjunct instructor at North Central Texas College in Denton. She serves on the advisory board of the Texas Association of Math & Science at UNT.   

Prior to Lake Dallas, she was an associate principal at Ryan High School in Denton ISD from 2001–10, and a classroom teacher at Ryan High School in Denton ISD from 1996–2001. 

A native of Haltom City, Strickland attended South Birdville Elementary (currently, Major Cheney Elementary at South Birdville) and Haltom Junior High School (currently, Haltom Middle School). 

She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Tarleton State University and doctorate degree from the University of North Texas. 

Congratulations to the 2021 Teachers of the Year!

2021 Teachers of the Year Winners

Congratulations to 2021 Teachers of the Year! Courtney Maxwell, Smithfield Elementary, was named the District Elementary Teacher of the Year; Colby Blankenship, Birdville High School, was named the District Secondary Teacher of the Year; and Isaac Bradley, Stowe Elementary, was named BISD’s First-Year Teacher of the Year. 

Birdville ISD also congratulates the 2021 Campus Teachers of the Year. This group of individuals is one of the reasons #BISDShines so brightly in our community, state and nation. We are proud to honor you as part of the BISD family. #WeAreBirdvilleISD 


Molly Reyes, Binion Elementary 
Kris Fletcher, Birdville Elementary 
Nilsa Hernandez Pacheco, Cheney Elementary
Cindy Sawai, Foster Village Elementary
Abbie Symons, Francisco Elementary 
Darlene McCabe, Green Valley Elementary 
Katrina Kyser, Hardeman Elementary 
Beth Taylor, Holiday Heights Elementary 
Courtney Trevino, Mullendore Elementary 
John Seale, North Ridge Elementary 
Natalie Becknal, Porter Elementary 
Magaly Jackson, Richland Elementary
Kimberly Kime, Smith Elementary 
Courtney Maxwell, Smithfield Elementary 
Sally Frye, Snow Heights Elementary
Kathy Speers, Spicer Elementary 
Katterine Rojas Siu, Stowe Elementary 
Robin Le, Academy at C.F. Thomas Elementary 
Nicole Anderson, Walker Creek Elementary 
Randi Wheeler-Kurz, Watauga Elementary 
Kristin Autrey, West Birdville Elementary 


Veronica Schilowsky, Haltom Middle School 
Gina Chance, North Oaks Middle School 
Stacey Edwards, North Richland Middle School 
Sayde Smalls, North Ridge Middle School 
Malyn Bannister, Richland Middle School 
Aubrey Otero, Smithfield Middle School 
Ryan Ferrill, Watauga Middle School 


Joshua Gentry, Birdville Center of Technology and Advanced Learning 
Colby Blankenship, Birdville High School 
Cong Trinh, Haltom High School 
Chuck Wells, Richland High School 
Heather Kukuk, Shannon High School